Na Fianna - Killeigh Parish

This Website was last updated:- .
Go to content

Na Fianna

Sports Clubs




DATE: 18 JUNE 2018
Na Fianna U13 Footballers losing run continued with another heavy defeat this time to Tullamore in the final round of the group stage of the League last Monday week in O’Brien Pk, Tullamore on a scoreline of 9-18 to 1-12. Na Fianna started brightly as they opened the scoring with the first 4 points inside 5 mins but Tullamore got off the mark with their first goal on 9 mins and took off from there as they led at the break 5-08 to 0-06.In the second half Tullamore continued from where they left off adding a further 4-10 to Na Fianna’s 1-06 with the Na Fianna goal midway through the half one of the few highlights as Kevin Sweeney dribbled round his marker a couple of times before planting his shot across goal to the corner of the net.
NA FIANNA: Killian McHugh, Ronan Brophill, Finn Hassett, Finn McCormack, Eoin Dunne (0-01), Cian Malone (0-03), Rory Grehan, Kevin Sweeney (1-00), Danny Gorman (0-04), Aaron Rattigan, Brian Connolly (0-02), Dan Daly, Cein Gorman, Ryan Kinahan, Sean Cuskelly.
SUBS: Cillian Murphy, Evan Gorman, Peter McKeagney, Conor Bracken, Jamie Byrne (0-01), Jack Fox, Sam Dunne, Brian Connolly, Ryan Mulpeter, Adam Carthy.
Na Fianna U13 Football No 1 Team put in a much improved team performance to put their recent disappointments behind them by claiming a draw against Ballinamere / Durrow in Rd 3 of the Championship last Friday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 3-11 to 4-08. B/D opened the scoring with a point straight from the throw in with Na Fianna getting off the mark with a pointed free on 5 mis. B/D then added 2 points before Na Fianna struck for their 1st goal on 10 mins when Adam Carthy caught a high ball before laying it off to the in-running Cein Gorman to shoot to the net. Na Fianna added their 2nd point and goal on 12 mins with the goal from a free into the square blocked down and scrambled to the net by Adam Carthy. Over the remaindrer of the half Na Fianna added 7 points to B/D’s 4 to strech ahead and lead at the break 2-09 to 0-07. B/D added a point early in the second half before the sides scored a goal apiece midway through the half with Na Fianna’s blasted to the net from the edge of the square by Rory Grehan. A 3 goal haul for B/D to just a single point reply over the next 10 mins brought B/D right back into it and go in front before Adam Carthy fired over the equaliser for Na Fianna in the final minute.
NA FIANNA: Killian McHugh, Ronan Brophill, Finn Hassett, Finn McCormack, Cian Malone (0-02), Rory Grehan (1-00), Eoin Dunne, Kevin Sweeney (0-03), Danny Gorman, Aaron Rattigan, Cein Gorman (1-03), Conor Bracken (0-01), Peter McKeagney, Adam Carthy (1-01), Dan Daly (0-01).
SUBS: Ryan Kinahan (for Dan Daly), Jack Fox (for Peter McKeagney), Sean Cuskelly, Evan Gorman, Cillian Murphy.
Na Fianna U13 Football No 2 side picked up the first Championship win of the year for the club as they had little difficulty in getting the better of neighbours Gracefield only side in their White Group Rd 2 meeting last Saturday morning in Geashill on a scoreline of 9-13 to 2-04. The first half was an evenly contested affair with Cillian Murphy scoring his 2nd and Na Fianna’s 3rd goal (Ryan Kinahan scoring the other) in the final min to edge Na Fianna in front at the break as they led 3-05 to 2-04. In the second half Na Fianna had the strong breeze on their backs and they really took full advantage of it scoring at will adding a further 6-08 without reply with the goals finished by Ryan Kinahan, Evan Gorman, Kevin Sweeney (3) and Ryan Mulpeter.
NA FIANNA: Sam Dunne, Finn Hassett, Jack Fox, Ryan Mulpeter (1-00), Rory Grehan (0-01), Sean Cuskelly, Conor Bracken, Danny Gorman (0-04), Cillian Murphy (2-02), Kevin Kinahan (2-04), Evan Gorman (1-01), Shane Hackett, Cein Flood.
SUBS: Cein Gorman (0-01) (for Danny Gorman), Kevin Sweeney (3-00) (for Ryan Kinahan), Danny Gorman (for Conor Bracken).
Na Fianna U15 Footballers have the opportunity to pickup the first silverware of the year for the club as they take on neighbours St Vincents in the League Final this Sunday (24 June) @ 5:30pm in Gracefield. Best of Luck to Players and Management. All Support would be appreciated.
Back to content